

Chairman: Robin Osterley De

President: Dame Cleo Laine

Deputy-Chairman: Peter Filleul Honorary Treasurer: Joanne Prowse Administrator: Fiona Harvey

NATIONAL MUSIC COUNCIL - CONSTITUTION

1. NAME

The Name of this organisation shall be The National Music Council of the United Kingdom.

2. HEADQUARTERS

The Headquarters of this Council shall be in London, unless the Council decide on another place.

3. AIMS

a. to promote and assist in the advancement of musical education as far as such promotion and assistance shall be of a charitable nature, to raise the artistic taste of the country, and to foster and increase the appreciation and understanding of the art of music in all its forms;

b. to carry out research activities regarding music and its place in the national life of the United Kingdom;

c. to represent the United Kingdom as the British Section of the International Music Council and to appoint representatives to the International Music Council;

d. to carry out in the United Kingdom such aims of the International Music Council as may be approved by the National Music Council;

e. to arrange conferences, whether on a regional or national basis, for the discussion of problems affecting Britain's musical life;

f. to encourage at every level the practice, performance and appreciation of music;

g. to foster and develop music education;

h. to publish all such literature as the executive may think fit; and

i. to undertake such projects and enter into such engagements that will assist in the fulfilment of all or any of the aforementioned aims.

4. MEMBERSHIP

a. Group Members

The Council may accept as group members organisations dedicated to the aims and continuance of the Council, and such groups shall be representatives of every aspect of music, professional and amateur, creative, concert-giving, recording, the manufacture and distribution of musical instruments, the publishing of music and all kindred activities.

b. Honorary Members

The Council may offer honorary membership to persons who have rendered distinguished service to the cause of music.

c. Associate Membership

Associate membership shall be open to those individuals or associations not directly connected with music, but having an interest and who have helped or are willing to help the work of the Council.

60/62 Clapham Road, London SW9 0JJ, United Kingdom Tel: +44 (0)870 909 2621 Fax: +44 (0)870 706 5329 Email: info@nationalmusiccouncil.org.uk Website: www.nationalmusiccouncil.org.uk National Music Council Registered Charity No. 249178

Executive Committee Members

Association of Professional Recording Services, British Academy of Composers and Songwriters, British Phonographic Industry, Jazz Services Ltd, Local Government Association, Making Music, MCPS-PRS Alliance, Music Education Council, Music Industries Association, Music Publishers Association, Musicians' Union.

5. FEES

a. Group Members

Each Group, as a condition of membership, shall make an annual contribution to the funds of the Council, of such amount as shall be determined between the Council and the Group - the agreed contribution shall be paid before the end of the financial year and in the event of the group failing to make its agreed contribution before the end of the financial year, it shall automatically cease to be in membership, but shall be liable for arrears.

b. Honorary Members

These shall be members without fees.

c. Associate Members

The contribution of Associate Members to the funds of the Council shall be determined by the Executive.

6. AUTHORITY AND EXECUTIVE POWERS

a. The final authority of the Council in all matters, except as otherwise stated in the Constitution, is the Council in Annual Meeting, or in a General Meeting convened by a demand in writing from one third of all the Group Members of the Council.

b. Council

Each group shall elect a representative or representatives to attend Council meetings, but not more than three representatives may attend on behalf of each Group. Each Group shall be entitled to cast one vote. The Council shall appoint a President and other such officers as it deems fit who shall hold office for three years. At meetings of the Council FIVE shall form a quorum.

c. Executive

The Annual Meeting of the Council shall elect by postal ballot annually a Chairman, Deputy-Chairman and Honorary-Treasurer together with a maximum of eight members to the Executive Committee, from those members who have indicated their willingness to stand, and these shall form the Executive Committee. Four of the eight shall be representatives of MCPS, PRS, the MU and the BPI, during the period of their funding to the National Music Council. The Executive Committee shall have the power to co-opt other members who shall become members of the Executive Committee without voting rights and who may be co-opted whether or not they are members of the Council. Seven days notice shall be given of the meetings of the Executive Committee which shall meet at least four times a year. At meetings of the Executive Committee FIVE shall form a quorum.

d. Administrator

The Administrator shall be the Chief Officer and shall be appointed by the Executive Committee and be responsible to the Executive Committee for the carrying out the work of the Council and the conditions of his appointment shall be determined by the Executive Committee.

7. AMENDMENT OF AIMS AND CONSTITUTION

Proposals to change the Aims and Constitution of the Council shall be made formally in writing at least three months before the Annual General Meeting. Amendments to the Aims and Constitution shall be effective only then they are passed by a two-thirds majority of those present and voting.

8. VOTING

At meetings of the Council each Group shall be entitled to cast one vote although it should be open to groups to send more than one representative. Except as in Article 7, decisions shall be taken on a majority vote.

9. FINANCE

The financial year of the Council shall be from April 1 - March 31 of the following year, unless otherwise decided by the Council. The Executive Committee shall determine ways and means of the Council and shall be responsible for seeing that proper books of accounts are kept and shall submit to the Annual General Meeting a Balance Sheet of Income and Expenditure. Auditors, whether honorary or otherwise, shall be appointed by the Executive.

10. SUB-COMMITTEES

The Executive Committee shall have the power to appoint such Sub-Committees as it deems necessary.

11. WINDING UP

In the event of the Council deciding to wind up its affairs and determining to terminate its existence, all monies and properties possessed by the Council shall be given to another organisation whose aims are as close to those of the Council as possible.

As approved at the Annual General Meeting on Thursday 11 July 1996.